International Baccalaureate Programme

a course programme for students
preparing for the
International Baccalaureate Diploma

Our IB Tutorial College prepares students for the International Baccalaureate as an alternative to the Abitur or other European specific school leaving certificates. The IB Diploma as an internationally recognised certificate of further education is gaining increasing popularity in Europe as a whole. We have designed  an effective short course study programme in preparation for this diploma that opens the doors to universities around the world.

Our courses are designed to combine intensive classes in small groups with a maximum of five students per class with private (one to one) lessons in the specific subjects of the students‘ choice.

This format creates an effective and personal student-centred learning atmosphere and ensures that each student can develop their full potential.

Facts
  • Individually designed course content
  • IB specialised teachers
  • Private tutorials for specific problems
  • Focus on written expression
  • Mock papers under exam conditions
  • Development of enhanced oral competence
  • Detailed personal feedback
  • Carefully selected groupings

Concept

Vanessa Muth teaching students in St. Hilda´s gardens

The IB Diploma is challenging and demanding. We are experienced in meeting these challenges and training our students to face the demanding programme with confidence. Our courses focus on developing the potential of each student through the expertise and experience of our teachers.

Small groups to provide individual support.
Private tutorials for specific problems

Our IB Tutorial College has designed three
separate IB study programmes:

IB – Language-Based

The IB Language-Based study programme is designed for students who are studying for the IB Diploma with English taught as the main language. The study programme focuses on developing English language skills, while at the same time working on other subjects if so required. The programme comprises 16 group lessons (maximum five students per class) and 14 private lessons (one to one) spread over four weekdays. Wednesdays are reserved for mock exams. The emphasis in the morning lessons is on developing confidence in text analysis, essay and commentary writing and practising exam techniques. The lessons highlight areas where students need more support and help students develop new skills. In the afternoon private lessons, students work on specific subjects of their choice at the required level, higher or standard. In these lessons the focus is on consolidating the student’s knowledge in the subjects and/or moving to the next level of expertise in the chosen subject.

IB – Science-Based

The IB Science-Based study programme is designed to support students who want to concentrate on the requirements of the IB Diploma in the sciences and mathematics. This programme is suitable for students who need to consolidate or improve their performance in these subjects. This programme also comprises 16 group lessons (maximum five students per class) spread over four weekdays with Wednesdays reserved for mock exams and 14 private lessons (one to one). In the group lessons we offer biology, chemistry, physics and maths at both levels. Students can chose the subjects they wish to work on in the private lessons. These lessons can also be in non-science-related subjects.

IB – Revision Programme

The IB Revision Programme is designed to prepare students for their final examination. The study programme comprises 16 group lessons with maximum five students per class and 14 private (one to one) lessons spread over four weekdays with Wednesdays reserved for mock exams. This programme concentrates on the sciences, biology, chemistry and physics as well as mathematics all at either higher or standard level. Students can also choose to concentrate on other subjects of their choice in the private lessons.

The College
Punting on one of the many rivers in Oxford.

Oxford

Oxford is one of the two most renowned university cities in the world. Steeped in history and culture with a reputation for academic excellence, it is a green and spacious city with cobbled streets and cafes throughout the city center.

Oxford is a city of academic excellence and inspiration.
Students and teachers playing Articulate on college grounds.

St. Hilda´s College, Oxford

St. Hilda´s College is one of the forty colleges that make up Oxford University. We have been working closely with St. Hilda´s College for the past 15 years. As a result of this close relationship our students have the privilege of working in a highly academic environment.

Accommodation & Activities

Accommodation
St Hilda´s College, Oxford

St. Hilda’s College is a place where students can feel at home: comfortable rooms, pleasant surroundings close to the city centre with all that has to offer. Students and staff live on campus, the alternative being accommodation in carefully selected host families. College accommodation is in single rooms and includes breakfast as well as a warm lunch. Host families provide three meals a day with a packed lunch for daytime at school and a warm meal in the evenings.

Leisure Activities
Rugby is one of Englands traditional sports.
St. Hilda´s tennis court
Punting on a sunny weekend afternoon.

Oxford has a wealth of leisure activities on offer ranging from cultural to sporting and traditional pastimes in the form of punting. There is no excuse for being bored. Excursions are organised to various local attractions as well as a day trip to London. On the final evening of the course there is a farewell party where certificates are handed out and many tears spilled.

  • Picnics and barbecues in the park
  • Punting on the picturesque rivers
  • Cricket, football, volleyball and tennis
  • Excursions in and around Oxford
  • All the attractions of London
  • Open-air theatre, concerts, and cinema

Dates & Prices

Course Dates
Autumn

08 October – 29 October 2016

Accommodation:
Host Families

Easter

24 March – 07 April 2018

in Oxford

Accommodation:
Host Families

Summer

23 June – 08 September 2018

Accommodation:
Host Families or College


Private courses and one-week courses possible,
please call us for details on 0331-713789.

Course Prices:

IB Study Programmes

30 lessons (45 mins) per week including 14 private lessons (45 mins). The programme comprises 16 group lessons with maximum of five students per class plus 14 private lessons. The lessons are spread over 4 weekdays. Wednesdays are reserved for mock exams. All courses take place at St Hilda’s College Oxford. All study programmes can be booked as private (one to one) courses.

1. IB – Language-Based

The IB language-based study programme is designed for students who are studying for the IB Diploma with English taught as the main language. The study programme focuses on developing both writing skills in English and oral fluency.

2. IB – Science-Based

The IB Science-Based study programme is designed to support students who wish to concentrate on the requirements of the IB Diploma in the sciences and mathematics. This programme is suitable for students who need to consolidate or improve their performance in these subjects.

3. IB Revision Programme

The IB Revision Programme is designed to prepare students for their final examination. This programme concentrates on the sciences, biology, chemistry and physics as well as mathematics all at either higher or standard level. Students can, however, also choose to concentrate on other subjects of their choice in the private lessons.

Prices:
IB Study Programmes (Language / Science / Revision)
Accommodation 30 lessons / week
incl. 14 private lessons
Upper Host family, SR / FB € 2,045.00
College, SR / HB € 2,345.00

DR = Double Room, SR = Single Room, FB = Full Board, HB = Half Board

Prices:
IB Study Programmes (Language / Science / Revision)
as a private course
Accommodation 20 lessons / week 30 lessons / week
Upper Host family, SR / FB € 2,650.00 € 3,250.00
College, SR / HB € 3,010.00 € 3,610.00

DR = Double Room, SR = Single Room, FB = Full Board, HB = Half Board

Private Lessons

All lessons and courses listed below can be supplemented with additional private lessons à 45 minutes that can be booked on site for € 50.00.

Supplementary Courses

Information on our supplementary courses (TOEFL/IELTS, Personal Development and Weekend Workshop) can be found on the download sheet. These courses can also be booked as private courses. Prices on request.

Info & Registration

Online Registration

Use our online form for registration.

 Register Now

Registration

Here you will find the registration form to download. Use this form to register students for the International Baccalaureate Programme.
Registration 2017 (PDF, German)

Course Planning
IB – Language Based

Please fill out this form for your International Baccalaureate Programme (Language Based) so we can design your individual timetable.
Course Planning (PDF, German)

Course Planning
IB – Science Based & IB – Revision

Please fill out this form for your International Baccalaureate Programme (Science Based & Revision) so we can design your individual timetable.
Course Planning (PDF, German)

Further information

Here you will find course dates and further information on the International Baccalaureate Programme as a PDF download.
Further Information (PDF)

International Baccalaureate Programm

Ein Programm zur Vorbereitung
auf das
International Baccalaureate Diploma

In unserem IB Tutorial College bieten wir Kurse speziell für Schüler an, die mit dem International Baccalaureate Diploma (IB) Programme eine Alternative zum traditionellen Abitur wählen. Das International Baccalaureate Diploma (IB) ist international anerkannt. Damit sind die Schüler optimal vorbereitet und können ein Universitätsstudium überall in der Welt aufnehmen.

Unsere IB-Kurse bestehen aus einer ausgewogenen Kombination von Kleingruppenunterricht mit maximal 5 Schülern und Privatstunden. Damit schaffen wir eine individuelle Lernatmosphäre, in der jeder Schüler sein Potenzial ausschöpfen kann.

Fakten
  • Individueller Stundenplan
  • Fokus auf schriftlichen Ausdruck
  • Probeklausuren unter Abiturbedingungen
  • Detailliertes persönliches Feedback
  • IB-spezialisierte Lehrer
  • Private Tutorials für konkrete, individuelle Schwächen
  • Entwicklung mündlicher Fähigkeiten
  • Sorgfältige Zusammenstellung der kleinen Gruppen

Konzept

Vanessa Muth mit Schülern im Garten von St. Hilda´s

Das erwartete Leistungsniveau und das breite Themenspektrum des IB-Diploms stellen die Schüler vor eine Herausforderung. Wir kennen die Anforderungen des IB-Programms im Detail. Deshalb trainieren und fördern wir die Fähigkeiten unserer Schüler gezielt und vermitteln ihnen mit Expertise und speziell ausgebildeten Lehrern wichtige Inhalte und Konzepte.

Kleine Lerngruppen für individuelles Training
Privatstunden für spezifische Problemlösungen

Unser IB Tutorial College in Oxford
bietet drei IB-Programme an:

IB – Language-Based

Das IB Study Programme language-based richtet sich an Schüler, die bereits am IB-Programm teilnehmen. Sie erhalten in diesem Kurs gezielt Unterstützung beim Ausbau ihrer Englischkenntnisse und können gleichzeitig ihr Wissen in den gewählten Fächern vertiefen. Es finden 16 Gruppenstunden statt, die auf vier Tage in der Woche verteilt sind. Der Mittwoch ist dabei für Examen unter Prüfungsbedingungen reserviert. Wir legen in diesen Stunden das Hauptaugenmerk auf die Schlüsselfertigkeiten für die Textanalyse, dem Schreiben eines Aufsatzes und die Herangehensweise an eine Prüfung. Schwächen können so erkannt und Stärken gefördert werden. Ergänzt werden die Gruppenstunden von 14 Privatstunden, in denen die Schüler in den gewählten IB-Fächern auf Higher Level oder auf Standard Level unterrichtet werden. Ziel ist es, Lücken zu schließen und spätere Themenbereiche zu erkunden.

IB – Science-Based

Das IB Study Programme science-based fördert Schüler im IB-Programme, die sprachlich fit sind, aber ihr Wissen in den IB-Fächern festigen oder vertiefen möchten. Der Schwerpunkt dieses Kurses liegt in erster Linie auf den Naturwissenschaften. Jedoch können auch andere Fachgebiete wie Geschichte, Wirtschaftswissenschaft, Musik oder Sprachen behandelt werden. In 16 Gruppenstunden werden die Schüler an vier Tagen in der Woche hauptsächlich auf die Fächer Biologie, Chemie, Physik und Mathematik vorbereitet. Examen unter Prüfungsbedingungen finden am Mittwoch statt. Alle Fächer können entweder auf Higher Level oder Standard Level belegt werden. Die 14 Privatstunden sind individuell auf die Bedürfnisse des Schülers zugeschnitten. Hier vertiefen unsere Schüler das Gelernte entweder in den Naturwissenschaften oder in anderen Fachgebieten.

IB – Revision Programme

Das IB Revision Programme ist von uns speziell entwickelt worden, um die Schüler optimal auf die Abschlussprüfungen im Mai vorzubereiten. In 16 Gruppenstunden und 14 Privatstunden können die Schüler alle lehrplanrelevanten Themen wiederholen. Die Gruppenstunden finden wöchentlich an vier Tagen statt, wobei Mittwoch für Examen unter Prüfungsbedingungen reserviert ist. Diese legen den Schwerpunkt auf naturwissenschaftliche Fächer wie Biologie, Chemie, Physik und Mathematik. Die Schüler wählen zwischen Unterricht auf Higher Level oder Standard Level. Begleitend zu den Gruppenstunden können die Schüler in den Privatstunden ihr Wissen in den Naturwissenschaften vertiefen. Weitere Fächer wie Geschichte, Wirtschaftswissenschaft, Musik oder Sprachen stehen bei Bedarf zur Auswahl.

Das College
Punting auf einem der vielen Flüsse in Oxford

Oxford

Oxford gehört zu den renommiertesten Universitätsstädten der Welt. Neben ihren verwinkelten Gassen und ihrem reichen Kulturangebot ist die Stadt für eine ausgezeichnete akademische Exzellenz berühmt. Unsere Schüler können sich hier inspirieren lassen und in den Parks, kleinen Cafés und vielen charmanten Läden englische Lebensart genießen.

Oxford ist eine Stadt der Inspiration
Schüler und Lehrer spielen “Articulate”

St. Hilda´s College, Oxford

St. Hilda’s gehört zusammen mit 40 anderen Colleges zur Oxford University. Wir arbeiten seit über 15 Jahren eng mit dem College und der Universität zusammen. In den vielen Jahren ist eine sehr enge Beziehung entstanden, die wir sehr schätzen. Unseren Schülern bieten wir damit die außergewöhnliche Möglichkeit, in einer einzigartigen, akademischen Atmosphäre zu lernen.

Wohnen & Freizeit

Unterkunft
St Hilda´s College, Oxford

St. Hilda´s ist ein Ort zum Wohlfühlen mit angenehmer Atmosphäre, gemütlichen Räumen und vielfältigen Freizeitmöglichkeiten. Das traditionsreiche College bietet nicht nur Platz für den Unterricht, sondern in diesem ehrwürdigen Gebäude wohnen auch unsere Schüler und ein Teil der Lehrkräfte. Die Schüler erhalten dort auch Frühstück und Mittag. Alternativ dazu vermitteln wir Unterkünfte in sorgfältig ausgesuchten Gastfamilien. Tagsüber sind die Schüler mit Lunchpaketen versorgt, Frühstück und Abendbrot bekommen sie bei ihrer Gastfamilie.

Freizeit
Rugby – eine Tradition in England
St. Hilda’s Tennisplätze
Punting bei Sonnenschein

Für die unterrichtsfreie Zeit bieten sich in Oxford vielfältige Kultur- und Freizeitmöglichkeiten an. Verschiedene Sportarten, ausreichend Platz für Barbecue und Picknick oder die traditionellen Kahnfahrten lassen keine Langeweile aufkommen. Darüber hinaus können Ausflüge in das Umland der alten Universitätsstadt sowie eine Fahrt nach London unternommen werden. Am Ende jedes Kurses findet außerdem eine Abschiedsfeier statt, wo die Urkunden überreicht werden.

  • Picknick und Barbecue
 im Park
  • Punting auf malerischen 
Flüssen
  • Cricket, 
Fußball, Volleyball
 und Tennis
  • Ausflüge in die Umgebung
    Attraktionen in der
britischen Metropole
London
  • Events,
 Open-Air-Theater, 
Kino und Konzerte

Termine & Preise

Kurstermine
Ostern

24. März – 07. April 2018

in Oxford

Unterkunft:
Gastfamilien

Sommer

23. Juni – 08. September 2018

Unterkunft:
Gastfamilien oder College


Privatkurse und einwöchige Kurse sind
auf Anfrage möglich: 0331-713789.

Preise 2017:

IB Study Programme

30 Unterrichtsstunden (45 Minuten) pro Woche inkl. 14 Privatstunden à 45 Minuten. Es finden 16 Gruppenstunden statt, die auf vier Tage in der Woche verteilt sind. Der Mittwoch ist dabei für Examen unter Prüfungsbedingungen reserviert. Ergänzt werden die Gruppenstunden von 14 Privatstunden. Es gibt drei Kurse, die alle im St. Hilda’s College, Oxford stattfinden und privat gebucht werden können.

1. IB – Language-Based

Das IB Study Programme language based richtet sich an Schüler, die bereits am IB-Programm teilnehmen und einen Schwerpunkt auf die englische Sprache legen möchten, mit einem Fokus auf die Optimierung von schriftlichen wie auch mündlichen Fähigkeiten.

2. IB – Science-Based

Das IB Study Programme science based fördert Schüler im IB-Programm, die sprachlich fit sind, aber ihr Fachwissen in den IB Fächern festigen oder vertiefen möchten. Der Schwerpunkt dieses Kurses liegt in erster Linie auf den Naturwissenschaften.

3. IB Revision

Das IB Revision Programme ist von uns speziell entwickelt worden, um die Schüler gezielt auf die Prüfung im Mai vorzubereiten. In 16 Gruppenstunden und 14 Privatstunden bieten wir den Schülern die Möglichkeit, alle lehrplanrelevanten Themen zu wiederholen und bei Bedarf zu erarbeiten.

Preise:
IB Study Programmes (Language / Science / Revision)
Unterkunft 30 Ust. / Woche
inkl. 14 Privatstunden
Gehobene Gastfamilie, EZ, VP 2.045,00 €
College, EZ, HP 2.345,00 €

DZ = Doppelzimmer, EZ = Einzelzimmer, VP = Vollpension, HP = Halbpension

Preise:
IB Study Programmes (Language / Science / Revision)
als Privatkurs
Unterkunft 20 Ust. / Woche 30 Ust. / Woche
Gehobene Gastfamilie, EZ, VP 2.650,00 € 3.250,00 €
College, EZ, HP 3.010,00 € 3.610,00 €

DZ = Doppelzimmer, EZ = Einzelzimmer, VP = Vollpension, HP = Halbpension

Privatstunden

Zu allen aufgeführten Stunden und Kursplanungen können bei Bedarf vor Ort zusätzliche Privatstunden zu je 50,00 € à 45 Minuten gebucht werden.

Zusatzkurse

Informationen zu weiteren Zusatzkursen (TOEFL / IELTS, Personal Development, Weekend Workshop, Mathematics) finden Sie im Beiblatt zum Download. TOEFL / IELTS können auch als Privatkurs gebucht werden. Preise auf Anfrage.

Info & Anmeldung

Online Anmeldung

Nutzen Sie unser Online Formular für die Registrierung.

 Zur Online-Anmeldung

Anmeldung

Hier finden Sie weiterführende Informationen
und Anmeldeformulare zum Download. Um sich für ein IB Study Programme anzumelden, füllen Sie bitte zuerst das Anmeldeformular aus und anschliessend die Kursplanung.
Anmeldung 2017 (PDF)

Kursplanung
IB – Language Based

Bitte füllen Sie die Kursplanung für das International Baccalaureate Programme (Language Based) aus, damit wir einen entsprechenden individuellen Stundenplan erstellen können.
 Kursplanung – 1 (PDF)

Kursplanung
IB – Science Based & IB – Revision

Bitte füllen Sie die Kursplanung für das International Baccalaureate Programme (Science Based IB – Revision) aus, damit wir einen entsprechenden individuellen Stundenplan erstellen können.
 Kursplanung – 2 (PDF)

Weitere Informationen

Unser Informationsblatt zum International Baccalaureate Programme als PDF zum Download und Ausdrucken.
 Weitere Informationen (PDF)